Grade 2:  My Community and Other Communities

“My Community and Other Communities” is organized into five units of study
  • Individual Development and Cultural Identity
  • Civic Ideals and Practices
  • Geography, Humans, and the Environment
  • Time, Continuity, and Change
  • Economic Systems.

These units represent five of the unifying themes of social studies, and may be presented in any order.

  • Students study their local community and learn about characteristics that define urban, suburban, and rural communities.
  • Democratic principles and participation in government are introduced.
  • Interaction with the environment and changes to the environment and their effects are examined.
  • The concept of change over time and examining cause and effect are introduced.
  • Students will examine the availability of resources and the interdependence within and across communities.